Aquarius Press/Willow Books

Inlay with Nacre

Aquarius Press/Willow Books

Inlay with Nacre: The Names of Forgotten Women (2019) by Cindy Williams Gutiérrez.

2018 Willow Books Editor's Choice for Poetry

2022 Production Directed by Gemma Whelan

2016 Oregon Literary Fellowship. Poets & Writers Magazine 2014 Notable Debut Poet Finalist, 2019 International Latino Book Awards nominee

Poet-dramatist Cindy Williams Gutiérrez explores the global oppression of women—and testifies to their resilience—in over 20 countries around the world. Based on real-life incidents ranging from Brazilian “honor killings” and Indian sati to Ireland’s Magdalene Laundries and “Mississippi appendectomies” to rape as a weapon during the Rwandan genocide, this poetry collection bears witness to the sociocultural forces that have waged war on women’s bodies, freedom, and humanity. Now, in the #MeToo era, these poems both underscore and expand the conversation on the diminishment of women, reverberating across all continents and through 43 centuries. Inlay with Nacre is herstory—the plight of Woman as bride, wife, mother, and daughter—and a call to action to restore the Feminine in the world.  

Willow Books