Aquarius Press/Willow Books/AUXmedia

REMEMBRANCE Pre-Order

Pre-order thru 11/4/16. Historical novel based on the true story of the Harlem Hellfighters of World War I. 

In the tradition of Alice Walker’s The Color Purple and Toni Morrison’s Jazz comes REMEMBRANCE, a saga of love and war.

One hero will risk it all to save the world...and the woman he loves. In late World War I France, disillusioned American soldier and musician Sgt. David Pierce fights the German enemy and tours the French countryside with the famed Harlem Hellfighters Band. These “Men of Bronze” are not only brave soldiers, but talented musicians who are conquering Europe with a secret weapon—Jazz. In a cruel irony, David and his fellow soldiers are forbidden to serve in the war as Americans; instead, they fight for a grateful French army. As he battles in the trenches and with the relentless color line, David also has an unfinished war raging back home in the U.S. Facing an uncertain—yet certainly unhappy—future, he meets a woman who will change his life forever. However, her secrets challenge everything David believes about love, duty and sacrifice. How far will he go to win on all fronts?

“This is exactly the type of work that I feel is vital to African American letters—the literary imagining of unspoken history about black lives that mattered but have not been visualized. But the thing that makes it important, the element that really makes it work, is the art in the text that moves beyond history. This is a 21st century Cane.” —Reginald Flood, Professor of African American Literature, NEA Creative Writing Fellow, and author of COFFLE

About the Author

H. Buchanan is a writer and multimedia producer. Her work appears in print and digital publications, including MÖBIUS, Look at Flatbush and The Blood Jet Writing Hour. She is the producer of the Willow Books LitFest broadcast and founder of the Willow Arts Alliance. A three-time fellow, Buchanan is currently the Director of the Paradise Valley Idlewild Heritage multimedia project and co-producer of the upcoming Syncopate series. She is the Executive Producer of The Remembrance Project, a centennial print, digital, and musical tribute to the Harlem Hellfighters. https://about.me/heatherbuchanan